Confusion regarding the "on/off" button

Hello,

I have a Blokada+ subscription.
When I disable the blokada vpn through my phones settings/vpn, ads still are blocked with the private dns.

When I disable blokada vpn with the toggle in the miui control center (picture below), ads are not being blocked anymore, altough private dns is still active.

Poco F2 Pro Miui 13 A12

This is normal, when you disable VPN from your device settings Blokada cloud (blue mode) gets activated but when you disable it from the menu shown above it disables Blokada altogether and not just the VPN.

Ok, I understand that.
But even if Blokada is disabled altogether the blocking of ads should continue through the private blokada dns, which is still active.

No. Not if you’re using the app.
It’ll then reroute to a non blocking dns

1 Like

That is not logical to me.
When I uninstall the cloud app I can use Blokada dns without any problem, but when I fully disable the cloud app the private dns doesn’t work anymore.
My opinion is that if you have a blokada+ subscription blokada private dns should work at all times.
This seems very obvious to me :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hello,

The disabling of Blokada will also configure Blokada Cloud to disable ads blocking, even while the private dns is still in use.

It is done this way since there’s no possibility for us to remove your private dns settings automatically, only to disable the filtering. Maybe in your case, you were looking for a toggle specifically for the VPN feature, similar to how it is on the bottom of the home screen inside the app?

Hello,

I have been using blokada Cloud via online dasdhboard before the cloud app was released.
The name of my private dns was : xxxxxx.cloud.blokada.org. I could use it with the blokada 5 app or with any other vpn enabled or disabled.
This private dns is unusable in combination with the cloud app. The private dns name now is : Xiaomi--POCO--F2--Pro-xxxxxx.cloud.blokada.org.